How distressed will you be if your IL driver’s license is lost or stolen? Well, you don’t need to panic if you lose your driver’s license in Illinois. Renewing an Illinois driver’s license can be a complex process. But replacing a lost Illinois driver’s license is a comparatively easy task.
If your driver’s license has been lost or stolen, you should seek a replacement soon. You will need to apply for one in person or online at the Secretary of State’s Driver License Center. State of Illinois and pay the replacement cost. Driving a car without a valid license is illegal in Illinois. Or be prepared to get ticketed or fined if you get caught without a license!
It can be a hassle if you can’t present proof of identity when you need it with your Illinois driver’s license. Our blog will guide you through the procedures to replace a lost license.
How to Replace Lost Illinois Driver’s License
In Illinois, replacing your lost driver’s license is a simple process if you lose your wallet. If your wallet is stolen, contact the police and get a police report with your driver’s license number. You can request a replacement at two Esta Webs online or in person. Additionally, you must provide vital information when requesting a replacement.
Includes the following:
- Your driver’s license number
- Details of the class or type of license you hold
- Your full name, date of birth, address, and zip code
- Your Social Security Number (SSN)
- Replacement license fee
Remember that if your address or name has changed since you lost your license, you may need to manage those tasks before applying for a replacement.
How do I replace my lost Illinois driver’s license online?
You can obtain a replacement driver’s license online if you meet the following criteria. First, be sure to contact the police if your driver’s license has been stolen and file a report.
- You have a valid driver’s license
- The driver does not owe any reinstatement fees.
- You have a valid credit card and your information matches the information on your license
Normally, you will receive the duplicate license in the mail within 15 days. But you will have to pick it up in person if the mail returns to the Secretary of State’s Office.
How to Replace a Lost Illinois Driver’s License In Person
In some situations, you may need to replace a lost or stolen driver’s license in person at a Secretary of State office. You must complete this process in person if you meet the following criteria.
- You need a duplicate learner’s permit or commercial learner’s permit.
- The license was issued before August 1, 2016.
- In the last 12 months, you obtained three replacement licenses.
- Your license expiration date is within 30 days.
- Your previous address update was by mail or online.
- You need to have your driver’s license mailed to a temporary address; USPS will only ship a replacement to your permanent address.
What should I do if I lose my Illinois license out of state?
You have a few options if you are out of state and need to get a replacement. To obtain a replacement, contact the Special Licensing and Reassessment Unit at 217-782-6901. You may also request that a temporary license be mailed to your out-of-state address if you plan to return to Illinois within 90 days.
If you stay out of state for more than 90 days, the Secretary of State will send you all the necessary forms to apply for a duplicate license. In addition, you may request a duplicate license by emailing the information below to the Secretary of State’s office.
- Your name on the license
- Your Illinois driver’s license number
- Date of Birth
- Out-of-state mailing address
- Your return date to Illinois
How much does a replacement Illinois driver’s license cost?
Ideally, It costs you $5 for a duplicate driver’s license in Illinois.
You should contact your local police department once you realize your Illinois driver’s license or ID has been lost and report it. It is a critical step in preventing fraud or identity theft. After that, you must go to an Illinois driver service center to receive a duplicate license. You must provide proper identification and pay the replacement fee.
|Duplicate driver’s license||$5|
|Duplicate driver’s license (stolen with police report)||Free|
|Duplicate Driver’s License (Military and Military Spouse)||Free|
|Duplicate driver’s license (over 60 years old)||Free|