An unprecedented image was given this Saturday in the Spanish League in the duel that Atlético de Madrid would end up drawing against Getafe at the Civitas Metropolitano Stadium, when the Argentine striker Ángel Correa celebrated a goal after being replaced and being on the bench.
Correa scored a goal in the 62nd minute that did not go up on the scoreboard due to annulment by the assistant referee. Immediately after this action, the striker was substituted and once he was on the substitute bench, the VAR called on the referee to review the play.
After analyzing what happened, the principal validated the goal considering that the player was not in an illegal position. The goal was awarded 62 minutes into the game, almost two minutes after being replaced.
This triggered an even more unprecedented event, all the mattress players had to run to the substitute bench and there they celebrated with the Argentine while Diego Simeone tried to force one of his figures to stay on the field so that Getafe would not serve quickly.
Despite the fact that many believe in this rule and it was seen repeatedly during the Qatar 2022 World Cup, the rule does not exist. Therefore, there is no possibility of putting the ball into play while all the elements of the opposing team celebrate outside the regulation field.
According to the analyst Mister Chip, it is the first time in the Spanish competition that a player celebrates a goal after his own after being replaced. “THIS IS HISTORY. For the FIRST TIME in the ENTIRE history of La Liga, a player (Ángel Correa) has celebrated his goal while already sitting on the substitute bench. The things of the VAR ”.
Despite this unprecedented event, Atlético de Madrid could not achieve victory. In the 83rd minute striker Enes Unal ended Getafe’s 12-game losing streak at the rojiblancos stadium thanks to a penalty goal.
It may interest you: