HomeTECHNOLOGY10 strategies to protect your privacy on social media

10 strategies to protect your privacy on social media

A social network presupposes a platform that allows the sharing, daily or not, of whatever you want. It also assumes that you do it with several friends, who can see your publications as soon as they access the platforms. But it is increasingly important to know how protect privacy on social networks and avoid exposing your personal data and information.

How to protect privacy on social networks

The tips that we present to you apply to the most important and most used platforms in the context of social networks.

The truth is that the probability of a single user being present on more than one social network is very high. As such, we give you some tips that you can (and should) implement on more than one platform.

If you use Twitter, this tip is for you. We know that no matter how private you think your account is, this is increasingly difficult to guarantee. The mere fact of having a presence on the Internet is, in itself, likely to be not very private.

So, if you have a Twitter account, you might want to keep it as private as possible, and you can do that in the platform settings. This is because, if you have your public account, and even use hashtags in your tweetsthese will be shared across the Internet, making your account accessible to anyone.

two

Don’t make your updates public on Linkedin

LinkedIn allows you to keep your connections (as if they were your “friends” on Facebook), but everything you share on the platform is public anyway. This means that even those people you are not connected with can see what you share.

To prevent this from happening, go to the settings of this network and restrict your audience, so that only your connections can be aware of your shares. This will prevent people and companies with whom you are not connected from having access to what you post.

3

Hide your activity on Linkedin

Another of the tips that we can give you in order to protect privacy on social networks concerns the professional world, more specifically LinkedIn. Suppose you already have a job, but out of curiosity, you follow (and continue to follow) different companies on this social network.

For whatever reason, if you have your activity public on LinkedIn, everything you do (and every new company you follow) is public and ends up on the feed of the people/companies with whom you are connected.

If one of these new follows arises in feed of the current company where you work, it may appear that you are looking for a new job and this may not be viewed very well by your current employer.

hands on computer keyboard

4

Protect your Facebook posts

Do not limit yourself to having your Facebook account private, as this is not, in itself, something that completely protects your privacy. Implement another function that prevents “friends of friends” from having access to your shares, as this will ensure greater security for your publications.

You just need to access Facebook’s Privacy Settings and define who you want to see your past and future posts. Yes, this is possible to do and ends up working as another “shield” to maintain the privacy of what you share – whether texts, photos or videos.

5

Prevent friend requests on Facebook from people you don’t know

Another valuable tip we can give you to protect privacy on social media is to prevent people you don’t know from trying to “friend you” on Facebook. This is because there are several hackers who try to access people’s profiles through these requests that, at first glance, seem harmless.

In the platform settings, you can do this, preventing this type of requests from “friends of friends”. In many cases, these requests originate from accounts and fake profiles that only exist to steal information on the Internet.

man interacting in social network

6

Prevent them from finding your Facebook through a search engine

Even if you have a private account, did you know that your name appears on Google if you search for it? Among so many other profiles (which share the same name), yours will also appear in any search engine and preventing this from happening is something that can be very beneficial.

In the Facebook settings, you can define that your profile never appears in searches made on any search engine (such as Yahoo, Google or Bing, for example), so that your account never appears in more random searches.

7

Hide your email and mobile number on Facebook

Did you know that, by having one of these data associated with your Facebook account, it is possible to find your profile through them? This means that, instead of writing your name to find you on this social network, they just need to enter the email or mobile number (which you may have associated with the account) to find you quickly.

Again, this is an option that can be deactivated at any time in the platform’s privacy settings, which allow you to hide this data and even prevent searches through it.

young man hiding personal data

8

Do not use Facebook to create a Linkedin account

Or any other social network. By doing so, your account will always be associated with another platform, promoting the crossing of information and making your personal data more permeable than ever.

You should therefore always create separate accounts, entering your information each time you create an account on a new social network.

9

Block Photo IDs on Facebook

Did you take a picture you’re not very proud of last night? You don’t want it to end up on Facebook, associated with your account, right? So, don’t allow your friends to identify you in any way in any photo they share.

You can do this in the settings, so that no more embarrassing moment ends up being posted on your account and associated with your name and profile. In this way, no matter how much the photo is uploaded to the platform, it can never be associated with your account.

woman with smartphone

10

Create restricted sharing groups on Facebook

Are you about to post a photo or video that you don’t want to reach certain people? So, create a group with people you don’t want to share that content with, but who don’t want them to stop seeing the rest of your posts.

All you need to do is, before clicking the share button, define that you only want the post to reach “Friends except…” and write the names of the people you don’t want to share your new post with. post🇧🇷 Or, on the other hand, share only with “Specific Friends”, whose names you must also enter.

Must Read